Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 07 Ultra Elite XT3000 with Cam.5 and my Brace height is 1/8 short (7.25 instead of 7 3/8). I'm new to this hybrid system and am wondering what I need to twist/untwist and how much to get the BH up by 1/8"

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
Here is a link that talks about twisting cables to adjust timing, etc. It is directed toward the cam and a half, but should apply to most Hoyt cams. It worked fine for my C2 cams.

Are your other dimensions in spec? If so, I don't think I would mess with it for 1/8 of brace. If the timing is off, adjustments must be made. If you are slightly off the published brace height, I wouldn't worry. Draw length and cam/module positions affect this.

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=222048&highlight=tuning+hoyt

·
Registered
3,803 Posts
If BH is shorter than spec, you need to put twists into the Buss Cable and at the same time put twists into the control cable to keep draw stops in time. Just make sure to measure draw length and weight when you are done to make sure they are in spec also. Putting twists into the string will decrease draw length and weight, while taking twists out will do the opposite.

Make sure both limbs are "bottomed out" while checking all these measurements.

With your BH only being off by 1/8", I would check draw length now, before you do anything. If it is a little longer than spec, you can simply put some twists into the string to bring it to spec and this should bring your BH into spec also. Good Luck!

·
Registered
4,275 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies. I have both stops hitting the cables at the exact same time, the DL seems pretty much smack on, and it shoots unbelievably well. Just thought I might try to squeeze out that last 1/8" of BH, and wasn't sure what to do, as this is the first time I've ever set up a hybrid.

Thanks again -- very helpful!

·
Registered
3,868 Posts