Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen a lot of threads on tree stand safety lately. I always ware a safety harness in my stand but I don’t use a safety line while climbing in, but I make sure I always have three points of contact when climbing. I almost fell one time when I was hanging a stand, now I always use a linesmen belt.

I would like to hear the stories of the people that have fallen, how did it happen? Hopefully some of us can learn from your unfortunate mistakes. Thanks Steve.

·
Registered
622 Posts
It happens so quick

I had been hunting from stands for over 17 years. Climbing in and out of trees like a monkey, never thinking I would ever fall. I always would wear a safety belt when in the stand but never when setting one up. I was set in my ways, young, and invincible.

The morning of November 5, 2004 found me on top of a ridge before day light. It was a wet, cold morning and I was going to set up in a very large in diameter tree. I was not able to put my arms around it. I was struggling to place the strap of the hang-on stand around the tree. My left foot was on a tree branch and my right foot was on a tree step. Both hands were dealing with the stand. In an instant my left foot slipped off the WET tree branch while my right foot stayed to the step. I went head over heals, falling about 15 feet. My face slammed into the large branch (approx. 10'' in dia.) I was standing on then my body spun out of control to the ground perfectly flat, face down.

I did not even sense I was going to fall, it happened to quick and I had no time to try and catch myself. I can not say enough how quick it happened. I did not even have a thought about the fall until I was on the ground and dumfounded.