Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently shooting Elite Impulse 31 60# with a 28.5" draw with GoldTip Pro Hunter cut 28.25" from nock throat to end of carbon these weigh 402-405ish. 100grain heads.

I want to shot a heavier arrow. Considering FMJ 5mm 340s cut 28", weight should be 459.4gr plus glue. Then I got playing some numbers and looking at shooting Axxis 340s 5mm and using the 50gr brass inserts, weight should be 443gr plus glue. I am not an arrow expert by and stretch of the imagination. So for those more knowledgeable and experienced which of the two I listed would you chose for my setup and why. The FMJ is going to be a bit heavier but the Axxis would carry more weight to the front end.

Thanks in advance guys.

·
<--Son's First Buck!
8,996 Posts
I've shot both and had luck with both. My current arrow is a 300 5mm Axis with 50gr upfront and a 125gr head. They come in right at 520grs. I generally prefer an arrow with a higher FOC and have built a number of arrows the past few years with high FOC %. The advantages of a heavier arrow with a higher FOC will be a quieter shot and hit harder without too much of a loss in trajectory. They generally will group better in a well tuned bow. Could opt to add the HITs to the FMJ and get in that 500gr plus range, but for deer sized game that's a bit of overkill. Although some guys love the heavier builds. Heck, two years ago I built a GT Kinetic that was 560 plus for elk.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter #3