Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I'm not passing judgement. I'm new to bows as well as bowhunting. Spent my first day big game hunting last weekend for elk in Central Oregon. Found fresh droppings and a good place to do some "early season elk calling" ala Jim Horn. Just when I was getting ready to toot, off in the distance comes the sound of a 4-wheeler - and I figured it was all over. I am wondering why people bowhunt for elk on ATVs. Seems to me that any elk in the area would be aware of them a long time before the hunter gets in the vicinity of his quarry - and would be on its way to the next county. Am I wrong here? Or am I correct in assuming that hunting in an area accessed by ATVs is a waste of time? Hey, if I'm wrong, I can take my licks - correct me and educate me. Thanks, fred.

·
Registered
780 Posts
here in northern idaho, there is so much logging, atv riding/camping, the elk don't pay much attenion to them. i have been working bulls in the past and when they hear a atv, they stop bugleing, but 5 min after it's gone they start bugleing again. it just depends on how much traffic your area has during the summer. if there are lost of atv's all summer then it shouldn't bother them much. in fact last season my buddies release broke and he came looking for me, to use my extra. he rode within 300yds. of where i was working a hot bull,
as he rode by the bull shut up but it wasn't 3 min after he left that the bull started again. also i have rode in and shut off my atv and 10 sec. later a bull bugles less than 150yds. away. it just depends on what the elk in your area are used to.

·
Registered
349 Posts
"Hunting elk with an ATV?"

Personally, I would think you'd have better luck hunting them with a bow :wink:

Sorry...couldn't resist!

·
Registered
780 Posts
i've heard people have had good luck with the front end of a pick up. a little messy but no tracking needed.

·
Registered
726 Posts