Archery Talk Forum banner

hunting from a blind

832 12
Hello all,

I am new to hunting so I have decided that I wanted to give a ground blind a try before I looked into buying a treestand. For a couple of reasons, but the main one is I am a female and not sure if I will like it at the end of the season. So long story short, I have only been out a few times now and I'm not sure exactly how to handle/setup/etc a blind. The place where I hunt doesn't allow you to leave the blind on the property so I guess that doesn't let the deer get used to it. Do they get spooked easily? I always have it up against a tree line facing either a field or off to the side of the field with twigs and branches/leaves, etc covering it as good as possible. This past weekend, I was all set up and a doe and her 2 fon comes out about 90 yards away on the other end of the field and the mom kept looking over at me. I wasn't sure if they noticed it and got spooked or what. So they kind of worked themselves back in the woods and never saw anything again after that. They were out pretty early, about 5:30, I've been seeing them around 7:30 lately.

So, can you help me out so I can make the best of my hunting in a blind work? Give me some advice and helpful hints with this.

Thanks.
-c
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
scent control

I have been making sure that I am down wind from where I want to face and hunt. I'm doing pretty well at the scent control, at least I think I am. But I will take your advise and see what I can do better to make sure that is the key. Thanks for your help.

· Registered
2,046 Posts
we used a blind this spring for gobblers. in one morning hunt we counted 41 deer that were all within 35 yards at some point. we were tucked into the tree line over looking a field. we were sitting at a slightly higher elevation than the deer but they sure came close. we never worried about scent because we were hunting turkey but the deer didn't seem to mind.