Archery Talk Forum banner

I had totally forgotten just how accurate aluminums are!

4594 Views 64 Replies 41 Participants Last post by  kjwhfsd
I was out yesterday at our local range, trying different arrow combinations with my 3-d bow. I have been shooting carbon shafts for years, mainly for weight reasons. I had my Maxima's and my CXL2's, and I was alternating each shaft between 75 and 100 grains in the point, playing with groups at 50 yards. Just for grins, I had some old 2213 X7 Eclipses with me with 90 grain FliteMate points in them. I started playing with these at 50 yards, and my groups INSTANTLY dropped from about 4 to 5" to about 2 to 4". I was getting a tiny bit of wobble from my carbons down range, but the 2213 X7's were leaving the bow so straight, they looked like perfect bright green balls flying through the air, and sinking right up next to each other. I was shooting at an old pack of cigarettes someone left on the 50 bale, and a couple groups left 6 for 6 aluminums in the pack. Wow, I had forgotten how well the aluminums shoot. I just wish they weren't so heavy. :cry:

If you've not used aluminums in years, go grab some of your old ones, and head to the range. You might be suprized. :wink:

Todd
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

· Bowhemian
8,311 Posts
Oh, and they are $75 per dz shafts, vs $130. :eek: Not as tough, but I can buy twice as many. :wink:
I've been shooting XX75s (Platinum Plus) for years and they take a hell of a beating. $45 a dozen for shafts (from Lancaster). Excellent arrows.

· Tooth, Fang, Claw
6,284 Posts
Those were my smokes!! :eek:

· Registered
2,656 Posts
Aluminums cannot be beat for accuracy, only in weight savings. Durability of light carbon arrows is questionable IMO.

· Banned
594 Posts
Hey Toddman, I guess you oughta switch back, eh? I have a dozen Easton Maxum Quattro's w/ 5" feathers on the way from Big Tom as we speak.

Can't wait to get them and my bow back and get shooting.

· Registered
8,684 Posts