Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
1,649 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a press, and my 09 Z28. I have zero bow tuning experience. Should I just leave this to the professionals and pay to have it done or is it something I can do myself?

Its a twin cam bow, so I dont know about tuning and so forth. HELP!!! lol.

Thanks

Gary

· Registered
1,926 Posts
It is easy to swap the strings, tuning afterward is where the difficulty is. I have a Z28 as well and would be happy to walk you through the process. You will need a draw board (you can make one pretty cheap - check the DIY forum), or at the very least, a hook in the ceiling. Feel free to PM me and we can get in touch. You can pay to have it done, but it is much more rewarding to learn how to do it yourself. In addition, you will gain the knowledge to tinker and fix things for yourself. If you can get through the process of swapping strings, you will never need to pay to set up a new bow again.

· Registered
507 Posts
It's easy. But in addition to the press you will need a drawboard as well (easily built-do a search and you can find ton's of examples). Then just press the bow and change one string at a time so you don't get the routing mixed up. Maybe take some digital photo's just in case.

Finally you will need the drawboard to check the timing. It shouldn't be to far off if at all but the bow won't shoot good unless it is timed.

Depending on how far you wan't to go you could also bring the bow into specifications.

Good Luck, It's easy

Mason

· Registered
4,736 Posts