Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year bowhunting and before I get arrows I’ve been using weight, FOC, and speed calculators but I can’t get results that I like. I will be shooting 55 pounds with a 27 inch draw and I want around a 15% FOC arrow that’s at least 410 grains with a 125 grain fixed blade broad head and I want 270+ fps. The problem that I keep running into is that I could get a 438 grain arrow with 14% FOC but according to the calculator I will only get 242 fps and to get my desired speed I have to get the weight below 400 grains. Does anyone have a solution? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,939 Posts
This is my first year bowhunting and before I get arrows I’ve been using weight, FOC, and speed calculators but I can’t get results that I like. I will be shooting 55 pounds with a 27 inch draw and I want around a 15% FOC arrow that’s at least 410 grains with a 125 grain fixed blade broad head and I want 270+ fps. The problem that I keep running into is that I could get a 438 grain arrow with 14% FOC but according to the calculator I will only get 242 fps and to get my desired speed I have to get the weight below 400 grains. Does anyone have a solution? Thanks in advance.
I really like Victory VAP TKOs.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Different people interpret FOC in different ways ….. but the best way I found was to distribute that weight on the front…so for example I would use a 75grain insert or outsert & a 125grain head to get to my 200grain tip….instead of using a straight 200grain tip.

Since arrows with broadheads are heavier on the tip & are longer to accommodate the broadhead they need to be stiffer than normal and shooting at 55lb with smaller draw, a slower 7inch brace bow…you can’t expect miracles with speed…..I would recommend crank it to 60lb and use the ‘Easton HEX 330spine’ arrow with the 75grain HIT inserts.