Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Background-I've always hunted in rubber boots(LaCrosse and Muck boots) because of swampy conditions and scent control. Now, I 'm thinking of something more comfortable because I walk a long way to the area I hunt. Here are the things I want in order of importance:

1. Comfort-something that makes me feel like I have sneakers on. Oh, and I have a high instep, so getting some boots on and off is often difficult for me.
2. Cool-I'm in La., so lots of insulation would be bad. Maybe minimally insulated.
3. As little leather as possible-no leather would be best.
4. Water proof. It's been dry, but I might still have to walk through some water.
5. Price-I don't want top of the line that will cost a lot.

Cabelas has some models that look like they might work, but I have no experience with their boots.

Oh, and it seems like I recall one company in particular getting bad reviews here, but I can't recall which it was. A little help on that would be nice too.

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
BPS had Rocky Bruins on sale for $69. I bought some and they are light, comfortable, no insulation, and gore tex.

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Okccj said:
BPS had Rocky Bruins on sale for $69. I bought some and they are light, comfortable, no insulation, and gore tex.

OK, those look good. Do they make a model higher than 6"?

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Just a reminder, no(or very little) leather and no rubber-I have rubber covered well including some big-boy burleys.

·
Registered
6,318 Posts
Redwings are great boots,

but there is a very nice pair of Irish Setters in the Cabela's flyer for sale.

"Tamarack Boots", Gor-Tex Lined, Scent Ban odor eliminator, and 600-Gram thinsulate ultra insulation

$99.95

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
I can't tell you enough good things about my muck boots I love them.
1.dry and warm
2.very comfy
3.easy to get on and off.