Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I am just getting into the traditional shooting a recurve. I have been asking questions and you guys have been awesome with helping me learn, so what better place but to ask another question! I'm shooting a 60" Samick Red Stag 45# 28" draw with 29" long Gold Tip Traditional 3555 with 4inch Right winged feathers and 100gr tips. I'm trying to get the darn thing tuned and I don't know if its right. I tried bar shaft tuning and @ 10yards and my bareshafts we about 7inchs lower, so I moved my nocking point down and here is what I got:

Then this is what I get @ 20yards...

That can't be right can it? When I shoot the bareshafts I can see the arrow kinda go left and then down and start coming back and hit the target, at least that is what it looks like, but the bareshafts aren't even close to the fletched arrows, and I have done it a few different times and its basically the same thing. The fletched arows look like they fly pretty strait, maybe just a little fishtailing or back and forth, but it doesn't always happen, so thats probably just me.

Here is what my rest looks like and how I have the arrow nocked. Its hard to tell but in the picture thats shows the the shelf, the left is wearing down and it is red, so it must be the bottom feather hitting there, is that normal?

I would greatly appreciate any help.
Thanks!

-Zach

· Registered
22,129 Posts
zach -

Let's go with the understanding that helping with tuning over the net is next to impossible ... OK.