Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in a suburb of Tulsa and I just found out yesterday that shooting a bow in your own backyard is illegal.(City ordnance)
I'm told that it was only recently outlawed,so there must have been an incident.
Anyway,I've been plugging foam in my backyard for 4 months now,in full view of neighbors,without problems.

I'm not sure what to do.I'm usually a law abiding citizen but....you know....
Guess I'll have to move if I get harassed (yeah that's right...harassed)by the police.

·
Registered
2,389 Posts
We have had a county ordinace in my area for years.. it's
illegal to shoot within 500 feet of any residential site.
It's not usually enforced unless a nosey neighbor want
to make an issue of it, then the police have no choice but
to uphold the law..

·
Registered
11,770 Posts
thats touchy, i too shoot within my privacy fence right along the fence so noone really notices. but i guess you just cant get mad if you get a ticket for it. that is the way i look at my situation. easton94

·
Registered
11,770 Posts
yeah that may be true, tafkas, never had it happen. but they may lump it in the same category as firearms and if that is the case i bet they will take it. something to take into account...easton94

·
Registered
371 Posts
Never heard that about a bow, but knew you couldn't shoot a firearm within so many feet of a residence.........

Course I'd never live in the city, so I don't have to worry about that stupid law.

·
Registered
Mathews Vertix, CBE Sight, Hamskea Rest, B Stinger Stabilizer, Gold Tip Arrows, Carter Release
2,764 Posts
"Harassed" by the police huh...I guess Jocephus seems to think that the police have nothing to do during their shift but give others (that are doing nothing at all wrong) a hard time. I wish all the criminals...I mean law abiding citizens in my jurisdiction would move when they get harassed.