Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was shooting at an outoor range the other day when a guy brought two kids with him to shoot. We all shot our arrows ( I was a few spots down from them). and when it was all clear we went to get our arrows. One the children about 10 years old runs up to the target to get his arrows. I didnt see the whole thing as my back was turned as I was pulling out my arrows, but he ran up to the arrows and ran right into the back end of one and put a huge gash in his forehead. Blood was everywhere. Lucily for him I am a nurse and carry a medical bag. I got him cleaned up and told the guy he was with who I found out after that it wasnt his dad (Oh NO!!!) that he needed to go into to get looked at.
I dont know the outcome after that, since I left. But it just goes to show that safety really needs to come first when at the range. I am sure he learned his lesson and will not run again!!!

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Excellent point! Not being a parent, I don't tend to think of such things, although with all of my nephews and nieces (and grand-nephews and grandnieces) I probably should.

People who bring guests to an archery range should follow the same protocol as those who bring guests to a rifle range - brief them on the saftey regulations BEFORE you get to the range. Do this even if you are sure that the person knows about safety (I have yet to meet a responsible firearms owner who'll cut someone off and tell them that they've heard the safety rules too many times before....).

·
Registered
450 Posts