Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,402 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using climbers for maybe 30 years. Only started using the 'belt loop' type a dozen years ago after reading about INJURIES in the state of Georgia. In the last year I"ve come to realize the belt is possibly just a 'slow death' solution,,,and the full body harness are THE WAY TO GO. So, someone [I think on this sight?] offered a SUMMIT harness shipped for $15. I know they are 'free' when you buy a stand, but I wanted to get one and learn how to use it before the archery opener, and was not going to buy another stand just yet. I always thought the body harness would be a PAIN to use,,,WRONG, Guys,,it's easy,,and you will LOVE IT as you get to know it. These safety harnesses are GREAT, and your family has a MUCH BETTER CHANCE OF KEEPING YOU AROUND if you will USE IT.
I even use the rope attachment/harness when climing. It does NOT take but another minute or so, and it is EASY. I am SO GLAD I got one, because although ground blinds are nice, sometimes you just want to be up HIGH in a tree stand! I plan to use blinds more when it gets to be cooler weather, but for now..........
I'M SO GLAD I GOT THE BODY HARNESS! GET IT,,,USE IT,,YOU WILL FIND A NEW LOVE IN USING YOUR TREE CLIMBER.
Hollering intended. It's that important.
I"m tickled to find out these things are SUPER, and NOT AWKWARD to use.
DO IT>:boink:
BTW,,,here's my Saturday Georgia opener doe,,,Switchback earns it's keep!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,858 Posts
I agree 100%. My first couple of seasons I didn't use one at all. I just kept thinking about the what ifs...It only takes one fall. I had a couple of close calls with my climber slipping...I started using a belt style harness and just got a full body harness last season. I won't climb without it. It does not hinder me at all and gives me a lot more security moving around in my climber.

·
Michigander R.I.P.
5,490 Posts
Amen