Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Folks, I’m new here and only have a handful of posts. I’m a complete beginner, but I’m really enjoying archery with my daughters.

I got a Bear Cruzer at the end of April, and upgraded to a Hoyt Defiant a little over a month later so I could set up the Bear for my oldest. The Bear was at 40 pounds for me, the Hoyt at 50. Draw length is 28 inches if it matters.

At first the Hoyt was too heavy, but I worked with it until now, and about a month and a half in its as easy as the Cruzer was when I got it. My question is, obviously I don’t want another 10 pound jump but I’d like to work up to the 60 pound draw weight the bow can provide. Do I do this 1 turn at a time, or 2, or 5 pounds at a time? When is a good time to increase? After a month after it becomes easier to draw, or longer? Etc.

Any advice is much appreciated. I feel like I can increase now, but I want to be sure to avoid injury and bad form. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
449 Posts
i don't know your setup and how many pounds one turn equates to but you could try 1/4 turn every couple weeks if you are shooting regularly. though, you may only need a half of a turn to get to where you want to be for this season. shooting low poundage bows can be a nice treat if you have the time to shoot all day.

just remember to keep the turns equal on each limb or you'll throw off the sync of the cams. you will may also need to re tune as you go up and check you arrow spine. if it's the same arrows from your 40lb bow you may need a stiffer arrow.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i don't know your setup and how many pounds one turn equates to but you could try 1/4 turn every couple weeks if you are shooting regularly. though, you may only need a half of a turn to get to where you want to be for this season. shooting low poundage bows can be a nice treat if you have the time to shoot all day.