Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry of all the stupid questions here but, I'm new to traditional equipment and have lots of questions. When shooting do any of you use any kind of a sight or do you shoot instinctively? And if you can use a sight what or how do you use one on a recurve?

·
Registered
232 Posts
I would have to say that depends on your needs.If you want to shoot in trad only 3D shoots normally you can't use a sight.But there are other archery classes you can compete in that will allow sights.And of cource if its for hunting,use what your most comfortable with.Some recurves are tapped for sights and arrow rest and some are not.Depends on what you have.Most of the metal recurve risers are tapped for both.If your bow is tapped for sights most sights you purchase should mount right to your riser with no problem.I shoot a Gamemaster 2.But I'm a gap shooter so I don't normally use a sight.I use the point of the arrow as a reference.However if I'm wanting to buckle down and practice my form I might add a sight temporarily.That way I can consintrate on my form and not my aiming system.Hope this helps.tradrick

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
Discussion Starter #3