Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the forum but not to bowhunting. I've been bowhunting for almost 30 years now, mostly with a compound but have taken deer and other critters with a recurve (years ago). I am fortunate to live in the big-buck mecca of central illinois. I remember well the days of having 3 pins on my compound for 10, 20 & 30 yards and still having to get the yardage right! My current compound with a single pin set at 25 yards works out to 35, the new compounds perform so well as to almost seem unfair, a 35 yard shot is nothing.

All this to say that I find myself wanting to convert back to the challenge of traditional archery. So, I picked up a used Bear Grizzly 50# bow on Ebay for less than $100. I've been reading all I can find here and other places as well as "picking the brain" of a long bow shooting buddy. I've started shooting the recurve, working on form, bow tuning etc. and must say I'm in love. Shooting, just for the sake of shooting, is fun again. My accuracy at 15 yards is acceptable but I still plan to hunt with my compound this season and convert fully by next year.

I bought some 2219's based on the easton chart but think they may be over-spined a tad, they shoot ok but not pure. My buddy says I need 2216's, from what I've read here I think maybe 2016's or 2018's. I'm shooting 53#s at my draw length, a 30.5" arrow with 125 g heads, 3 fingers under and off the shelf. I don't want to keep buying arrows to find the right one so I'd appreciate a recomendation.

I hesitated to ask this because I see it gets asked A LOT! I also see that you guys are always willing to help. Sorry for being so long winded, I'm looking forward to learning and participating in this forum, but especially to bowhunting with traditional equipment.

·
Registered
160 Posts