Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started and I want to know
should a rangefinder be on my must have list? I’m not
going to get to hunt this season but I will be going to the range.
Can it wait or should I pony up for one?

·
Registered
5 Posts
I think it would be a good idea to get one. It will help you learn how to judge range for when you are ready for the hunt. You can pick up a decent one from lots of places even Walmart has them

·
Registered
22 Posts
I agree that it is a very good idea... if you dont get one you will need to have some good landmarks where you hunt for yardage.. i have used mine on every shot I have ever taken with my bow

·
Registered
206 Posts
I agree also. Make sure you test yourself once in a while. Try guessing the yardage to trees, rocks, whatever then range it and see if you were right. That way if Big Chalie comes in and your batteries are dead you still have a fighting chance.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Mine was stolen a couple years ago, I was cheap and thought I could do without it cost me an elk. Under 30 yards probably not as critical but once you start shooting over that it’s a must have for me.

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Not now that Garmin has a sight with built in range finder, LOL!

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Do you guys range every deer before taking the shot? Or just range landmarks while sitting idle and then you use them when taking the shot?

Also, for guys that have single pins set at 25 yards. That normally means your shot is good from 20-30 yards no? (+- 5 yards). So do you really need a rangefinder?

·
Registered
11,035 Posts
Do you guys range every deer before taking the shot? Or just range landmarks while sitting idle and then you use them when taking the shot?

Also, for guys that have single pins set at 25 yards. That normally means your shot is good from 20-30 yards no? (+- 5 yards). So do you really need a rangefinder?