Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought my first bow and currently shooting in my yard. My goal is to kill a turkey with this bow. The bow is a Mission Craze. I told the guy who owns the archery shop I wanted to spend approx. $400 to $425, he set up and I purchased the Mission, Whisker bisquet, site (tru glo), 6 carbon arrows. I have watched a couple video's and have seen deer duck a shot and I suppose this is why you require a quiet bow. If hunting turkey, shots would probably be 10 to 25 yrd. max. If so is quiet important? Remember I am new to this so really don't have anything to compare to so thats why I am asking. I like the bow and once I get better with it will I and should I be going to another bow? I guess its just a question of trying several to decide which feel good. I do believe its more the indian rather than the arrow so until I get better I will definately stick with what I have. Thanks, any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,391 Posts
It's 90% shooter. People get too hung up on $$$ and equipment. Main thing with the turkey is be invisible. About once a week I work my calls while shooting. I use diagrams so it's convenient to practice while taking short breaks in groups. Just put in the time and it will pay off. Good luck

·
Registered
162 Posts
Yea. A turky won't duck your arow like a deer will. The reason deer "duck" is they are geting ready to jump and run as a reaction to the sound..They aren't realy ducking the arrow. Turkys are just hard to hunt because they haave realy good vision and are realy alert to movement. Camo is king with turkys and draw slooooow.

Good luck and invite me to dinner..:)

·
Anti Fanboy
42,158 Posts
I agree. Take if from an old fart thats been bowhunting with compounds for over 31 years.

I've killed lots of critters with a noisy bow of yester year.

A quiet bow is not necessary for deer or turkey's.

·
Registered
2,860 Posts