Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,

I have the opportunity to buy a Hoyt Maxxis 35 used for $400 with everything except a sight on it. My understanding that this bow is about 10 years old. I'm new to archery and wanting to get into bow hunting this year, so I don't know what a reasonable price is or if buying a 10 year old bow is a good idea.

My question is: Is this a good idea or a good deal to get a 10 year old bow for $400 or should I consider a brand new RTH bow for around $350?

·
Registered
19,812 Posts
Probably not and certainly not for that price. For the Maxxis, if the bow is not at your draw length and you have to change it, you have to find modules. Modules which are 10 years old and aren't made any more. You might even have to change cams and the entire string set if your draw length happens to fall on a different cam. Hoyt usually had 3 different cam sizes on bows in that era and it made the used market, especially for new shooters, very expensive if you didn't know exactly what you were buying.

Besides that, the price is probably $150 too high. You can find 3-4 year old bows on here for that price in the classifieds. Just have to be a member for 2 weeks and have 20 meaningful posts anywhere on the forum. You don't have to have 20 started threads, just 20 comments that aren't spam. Look for a bow that has rotating draw length modules so you can adjust the draw length without hunting down modules or new cams that may not exist. If they have rotating modules, you also won't need a bow press to change the draw length.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Yes it’s too high of a price.Does it the draw length fit you? If not you’ll need new cams and possibly new strings. Are you buying it off a friend?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8