Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to traditional archery, just got a martin savanah longbow. Of all the arrows I have tried the 2016 seem to shoot the best, with my limited abilities. Is this a heavy enough arrow to hunt with. the bow is 55 lbs @ 28, my arrows are cut at 30" with 100 grain tip.I'm drawing about 28 1/2 inches.

·
Registered
3,081 Posts
The arrow is perfect spine wise for that weight and draw.

·
Registered
20,557 Posts
sound -

Considering that the 2016 is a pretty standard arrow for a #55 bow, I'd say yes. The only monkey wrench is the 30" length, might make it a little weak (spine), but the 100 gr tip probably compensates. If you KNOW it's tuned correctly - you're fine. Don't fall into the heavier is better crap. A well tuned, well placed arrow will always be more efficient than shooting a log, just for the sake of "extra weight".

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
I don't think the 2016 will be weak in a longbow, a 30 inch might be in a 'curve though.

Sounds like a good set-up.:thumbs_up

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks guys! compounds are my thing, but this longbow is soooo different. A local shop, where the archery guy is a traditional shooter says it has to be 2117 the heavier the better, I just figured whatever shoots better is what I should shoot.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
He's probably using the Easton charts, which are garbage when it comes to traditional bows. Your results are the ultimate decider, and you should be doing well with those I reckon.

·
Registered
9 Posts