Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I need some advice here. I have been wearing Kenetrek Mtn Extreme 400s for 4 years now. The first year I got a blister on my left foot after 5 days of hunting, brought them back to Scheels and they replaced them immediately. Since then I've had the same pair. I take care of them, I wear liner socks and this year ended up getting a huge blister on both heels during a 9 day elk hunt in Montana during early bow season. Anyone who was out there this year knows it was brutal (dry, hot, etc.). My feet were sweating like crazy and I developed the blisters after about day 3 or 4. I'm wondering is it the boots (the shape of the heel cup), my feet or is it the sweat causing all the friction between my heal and the back of the boot through the socks? They are excellent quality and when I started to blister during the 2010 season, the liner socks solved the problem. Now, I'm not so sure. There are a million options out there and Lowa just put a new boot this year, the Ticam GTX that looks really promising. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
18,685 Posts
If they are broken in I would bet they do not fit quite right, hve you tried the body glide stuff? REI has it it is an anti chafe, i use it and it works very well, i had a couple hot spots when hiking hard but no blisters, this stuff stopped them.

Also I would think you tried it but try lacing them in a different way and see if you can lock down the heel, even try one of the gel heel inserts, thoses are expensive boots and it would suck not to use them.

I tried boots on for month before i found what I thought fit properly, I went with Asolo and have not had any blisters at all.

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
new boot insoles?? might help? maybe not if its on heel

·
Registered
11,632 Posts