Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have an arrow flight mystery.

I'm getting a little left to right movement of the fletching end of my arrows when they first take flight. They correct quickly and all enter the target at the same angle of impact. But it's bothering the heck out of me! I was getting serious vane contact with blazers on my QAD HD Pro but I recently switched to 3" Duravanes (3D) and solved that problem.*

OK, so here's what I'm fairly certain is not the problem...

- Rest Contact (*See Above)
- Cable Contact
- Bad Nocks (Brand New CX Maxima 350s)
- Bad Fletching (The kick consistently happens to all of my sticks and I'm no pro but I don't think I misfletched 12 arrows)
- Tuning (I'm still shooting decent groups considering I'm healing from a shoulder impingement and shooting for the first time in 3.5 weeks)

So, help me out and help me diagnose this problem! Thanks!

·
Registered
20 Posts
At first it sounds to me like a little torque in your grip.

Try playing with a few other ways to grip your bow (moving your hand a bit and shooting a few arrows when your hand is at different points on the grip)

It may be a simple case of finding a better way to grip your bow that does not torque your bow as much.

·
Widewater Hunt Club
9,387 Posts
I'm no wiz, but I would look at underspined arrow or "slightly" missaligned centershot. Could be other things too.

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
What color are your vanes?
Well, they're blue and green with matching green wraps. I'm really curious as to how this might come into play.

Thats what I was thinking
I'm no wiz, but I would look at underspined arrow or "slightly" missaligned centershot. Could be other things too.
Really? I have a 28 1/2" draw length and pull 70#. And a Maxima 350 would be underspined? If so, should I try more weight up front to fix it?

·
Widewater Hunt Club
9,387 Posts