Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie archer. I've always loved target sports and sports where you compete against yourself, so archery is a great fit. Recently I received permission to hunt on a 10 acre suburban property, so I've made the dive. For about a month I've been outfitting and learning and thought that I'd share some of the experiences I've had with others.
I'll start at the beginning.
Trying to find a good pro shop.
The first one I found was geographically perfect. Within 20 minutes of my home - on the same route I take to visit my girlfriend.
I called to check if they were open and told the owner I was coming by that night. This is exciting! I went for a visit with money in my pocket.
When I arrived, the outside looked exactly like I imagined. A log cabin in the woods with signs from new and old bow companies. A cartoonishly giant target.
Practically an old west provisions store.
It had a different energy inside. Dirty would be the first word that comes to mind. I don't mean disorganized - it was that too. I mean dirty.
I looked around for a bit. Not too many bows on the wall and accessories were generally in piles.
The owner was deep in conversation with another customer. It was about politics.
I don't need big box store bright lights and clam shell packages lined up nicely, but this was not really what I was expecting. I was not just in the market for a bow, but also a mentor. Someone I could trust to give me good advice about equipment, form and local hunting opportunities.
I met the owner when he finally acknowledged me. The conversation was short. "Give me $500, and I'll set you up with everything you need."
Eh, no.
I resolved I may have to figure archery out myself. Fortunately I have youtube, podcasts, and archerytalk.

Tune in tomorrow to find out what bow I bought, what my trip to another pro shop was like, and which tool I built first.
Shoot straight!
-KEG

·
Registered