Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
569 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last year the neighboring property got logged, but the loggers put their log yard on the property I hunt, in the corner of a corn field. (The landowner allowed it). The person who plants the field left that area empty this year and I have obtained permission from the landowner to put in a small food plot. The area is roughly 40x25 yards, and is in the absolute perfect place to funnel deer down before heading out to the corn. What would you guys recommend planting? I have some food plot experience on other properties that I hunt, but this is such a killer spot, I am trying to make it perfect. I have had a lot of success with Bio-Logic Green Patch Plus in the past, which is an Oat and Wheat blend. This plot is relatively small, so I will need something that will sustain browsing pressure. Any suggestions?

·
Backwoodsman
177 Posts
I planted a kill plot late spring. Mixture of brassicas, rye grass, clovers, and sun hemp. Deer are living there. This is a small kill plot, probably 40yds x 20yds. Walking thru looks like a cow pasture from all the deer patties in the plot. I will hunt this early season from labor day to mid October.
August, along the edge of the treeline of a hayfield and timber, I am going to plant radishes, turnips, buckwheat, and forage peas. I will hunt this mid October and after.
Ask yourself.. when you are going to hunt this plot you want to plant , how you are going to enter and exit the plot, and where the deer are going to enter and exit the plot. Plant the best food fr the time you want to kill a deer.
Lots to consider in conclusion
Main factor for me.. What can u offer that are going to pull deer naturally there day in and day out. Also, variety is beneficial, dont just plant one species of plant, give them a variety of at least 3 species of plants.
Hope this helps and good luck!

Sent from my HTC Desire 530 using Tapatalk

·
Backwoodsman
177 Posts