Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, not a newbie here but.....
I've hunted a lot but mostly on my land with permanent stands.

So my question is....

If you have 3, 4 or X number of portables.....how do you get into each one?

Do you have one ladder/climbing stick and take it with you to each location?
Seems kinda spendy to have a ladder for each, yet seems noisy and inconvient to have to mount a climbing stick every time you change stands.

·
snıuǝƃ ɹǝʇsɐ&#6
1,983 Posts
1 ladder for each stand is the only way to go....who the heck wants to make all the racket of putting it up/taking it down every time.

although taking the ladder home with ya might save your stand from being abused and/or stolen

·
Remember.. Archery is fun
3,323 Posts
I use Lone Wolf climbing sticks. They work great. I've had stands tampered with even on private land, otherwise I agree with ladders for each one.

Nick

·
Registered
645 Posts
If hunting public ground or a place where you can't use screw in the Lone Wolf sticks are the way to go. If the land is private then either screw in steps or if the land owner is ok with it and you know the spot is good then nail in tree spikes.

·
Remember.. Archery is fun
3,323 Posts
I never used a ladder stand until I helped a schools archery club hunt in the fall. Very nice. We setup about 20 stands in August in private land. That was work but it was worth it.

Nick

·
Registered
119 Posts
Screw in steps. Can find a good deal every so often in Cabelas or Bass pro.

·
Registered
2,224 Posts
A set of climbing sticks for every stand for me. I leave them out all season. I remove the bottom couple sections in the off season.

I'd hunt with a climber before I'd lug a set of sticks in and out with me each time. I love climbing sticks, but they are a pain to hang each time.

·
Registered
15,526 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
DEC said: