Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Still have my buck tag here in SW Iowa. Is it worth going out and trying to fill out over my xmas break (I am a teacher). I have access to some good leased ground...keys to doing it if it is worth it?? Any help welcomed...

·
Registered
749 Posts
Still worth it? What! :mg: Your in Iowa. I'm in northern Minnesota, and I was out last night in 10 below windchill, and it is still worth it to me, you wanna trade? Is this a trick question?

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
I'm in MN and still have my buck and 1 bonus tag left. Yes it's worth it. I would look for food plots, like corns fields or other foods that deer would look for in the winter. Last year I saw a couple of the biggest buck during the late season. I still have 3 weekends left and gonna be out there no matter what mother nature throws at me.

·
Registered
703 Posts
Hunt any inside corners or cornfields you can find in the evenings.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Sorry

I am not crazy...I have from December 21st - January 10th I believe. So I should hunt the same stands I used in the early season???? Is morning or evenings better? I assume no middle of the day sitting...

·
Just Do It.....
30,245 Posts
I am not crazy...I have from December 21st - January 10th I believe. So I should hunt the same stands I used in the early season???? Is morning or evenings better? I assume no middle of the day sitting...
If you have three weeks to hunt and you get out there as much as possible, you ought to be able to figure out where you need to be and when to be there.
Last January in N/W Missouri near Hamberg Iowa I saw deer moving at all times of the day. The closer to bedding I was the more movement I saw midday. The closer to food I got the more I saw early and late movement. This time of year I like to try to get close to the bedding areas.

Good luck,
marty

·
Registered
8 Posts