Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
1,964 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to have a doe tag to use for the late season after Christmas.
I really would like to get one with the bow during this time. I have been doing some reading already n know they will be feeding hard n know they are going to be pretty spooky after our rifle season is out. So I'm thinking trying to scout after rifle esp if we get some snow.
I know they are going to be jittery here on public lands. I'm thinking hunting clear cuts in and along them on trails that lead to where they are eating at dark.

How is hunting in the mornings this time of year?
I assume evening is better? Esp before an approaching storm front or right after it passes.

Offer me any other tips for this time of year? Thanks guys.

· Premium Member
10,191 Posts
Number one rule on public land, don't hunt signs. Number two, hunt afternoons and evenings. I have been hunting public lands for forty years and get my limit most years. I spent the first fifteen years hunting mornings and deer sign with little success. The sign you see is mostly done at night. My best season starts after gun season.

· Liv4Rut
7,392 Posts
I am the opposite of 1canvas, all I hunt is public ground and usually have my best hunts in the morning. In the mornings I can usually circle the deer and get set up between where they are staging at first light to where they will bed much deeper in the timber. I have had some amazing hunts but you got to hunt public where they are actually living at. I spent many years hunting public ground where the deer primarily bedded on private and you simply miss them.