Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to archery and hopefully to bowhunting. What I'm wondering is, how does one go about learning how to hunt? I recently picked up a 2005 Bowtech Allegiance that I've been going to the range with, and am quickly improving. I had a lesson to learn the form basics and such which has been super helpful. So I'm getting great on the archery front, but am unsure of where to start on the bow-hunting front.

I'm new to Winnipeg, MB, so I don't know any hunters out here yet. I'm going to take the hunter education course (required to get a license), and apparently there is a bowhunter education class, but I haven't found much info on it yet.

Any other suggestions? I rifle hunted a bit growing up, but nothing more than ptarmigan and small game, or standing on the ice road shooting caribou in a herd.

I want to learn how to hunt properly. Sneaking through the bush, tracking animals for proper stand placement, that kinda stuff. Deer, elk, moose, and even hear there's turkey out here. I have no idea how any of it works, but am really excited about getting into it. I've taken the first step by getting a bow and have started shooting, but I don't know where to go from here.

Thanks!

·
Registered
197 Posts
Welcome to the world of bowhunting first off!

If you can find someone who knows what they are doing that could be one of your best options. Maybe there is a archery shop or sporting goods store you can just go into and talk to the guys there. Another is read up on basic techniques on stand placement, and patterns to deer and stuff like that. Then just get out there and do it. Practice placing and stand in a tree and shooting from it also its a weird thing the first time you try to draw in a tree for a lot of people.