Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have put in about 200 arrows today, during mid day I was shooting dead center for most of my shots at standard target colors(focusing obviously on gold) it was sunny out then. I switch to just the white spots on the target face itself because the target paper was all torn up, same result dead center. I put the bow down for a couple hours and picked it up later this afternoon and by this time it was cloudy and all of my shots went left, arrows still touching but way left at 20 yards. My question to my target recurve guys, does light change the point of impact? This would baffle me because I’m new to target recurve but have been a hunting compound guy for a few years and have never heard of this. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
88 Posts
Light does change your string blur reference if you use that....

If I shoot with a well lit target and dark where I am shooting (for example outside at night with a spotlight on a target) I can barely see my string blur and my shots end up the same as yours if I'm not really focusing on what little I can see of the string...

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk

·
Truth is often ignored.
995 Posts
Yep. The direction of the light will affect where your groups end up. Happens with target compound archers as well and is most evident in lattitudes further away from the equator in summer and winter where the start and end of the day have the light coming from the most different directions.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow never knew that, thanks guys, I was getting frustrated because my groups were moving around on me

·
Back Yard Champion
29,684 Posts