Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi AT members

I am just getting into bow hunting and looking for some experienced advice on choosing a long draw bow. I just turned 16, and I am already drawing 30"/65#, and I probably have another 2 to 4" to grow so I want to buy a bow I can grow into. I went to the local archery store and tried out several different Hoyt PSE and Mathews models. I definitely liked the PSE the best. They only had one $900 model that draws over 30" which is way more than I can afford. So he directed me to Archerytalk to look for a used bow that would draw at least 32" and a 32"-35" axel to axle length and he would fit and tune and help me accessorize. His only suggestion was the PSE Vendetta XL which he said I should be able to pick up for about $200 for a bare bow. But in looking on line they seem to be a lot more than that which seems like a lot for a 8 year old bow. So i'm looking for your help on suggestions to look for. All in I can only spend about $500. Thanks.

·
Registered
183 Posts
I'd look at a used pse freak because it can go from 29"-33". You'll still be able to shoot it in case you don't grow anymore and it'll fit if you do

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the suggestion. I did some research, and I'm not sure I would be comfortable hunting with a 38" AtA bow. But i'll keep my eye out.

Any other suggestions out there?

·
Registered
16,177 Posts
Bowtech cpxl
Hoyt LD bows
Xpedition perfection
Are a couple I like and you can find the xpedition and cpxl pretty low price here.

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
Prime Rival long draw goes to 32", and I really like mine. CPXL is a good bow too, if barnsdale ever makes limbs for them I might get another one day. Pulling that kind of draw length, you're GOING to want a bow that has a long ata.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7