Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the title says it all really. I am curious what everyones personal long range is, Not just on a deer but larger game as well like Elk.

I am new to all of this and personally I cant keep my groups under 4 inches past 30 yards so I personally wouldnt take a shot on a live animal past that and it would have to be a very clear shot for me to take it at this point.
I was a rifle hunter all my life and had a Max range at that as well and it was around 275 with my .270.

Just curious as I am having a bit of a debate about this with some guys at work.

Thanks

·
bigpess51
606 Posts
50 is my max under the right conditions on a whitetail. Passed a few clear shots at 50-58 yds this year. I like them nice and close. The past 6 deer I have killed with my bow have all been within 30 yds.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
I've been doing this for 25 years and I don't even bother sighting my hunting rig in past 30 yards.

·
Mutant of the Year 2015
7,410 Posts
30 yards here.

·
Registered
441 Posts
The longest shot I've ever taken on a whitetail is 55 yards, but I'd be very comfortable taking shots between 75-80 yards as long as conditions were perfect. I've never hunted moose or elk, though. The vitals on a moose are like shooting at a VW bug's door, so I'd imagine the effective range would come down more to kinetic energy the further out you get rather than shooting ability.

I've hunted in conditions where I wouldn't shoot past 20 yards, though, too. Wind, low visibility, fog. I'm not even attempting a 25 yard shot in a last light situation and have passed on nice deer under those circumstances.

I also shoot regularly throughout the year and average 58X on the 5 spot

·
Registered
9,629 Posts
my furthest shot on a whitetail is 73 yards when i was young and dumb. I like to keep them under 35 yards or so now

·
Registered
2,121 Posts