Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to bowhunting this year...never taken a whitetail by bow and arrow before. What's the longest yardage anyone has killed a deer at? The closest? Is there an average distance?

Jake

·
Registered
2,820 Posts
Id take a shot at 50 yards...
30 yards is my longeset kill and i've had them so close i cant shoot!

·
Registered
3,057 Posts
Shortest - 6 yards
Longest - 31 yards

·
Registered
710 Posts
Longest (by far) - 45 yds from a treestand
Closest - 7 or 8 feet from the ground

My average distance used to be ~25 yds in years past, but that's shrunk to 16-17 yds in recent years.

·
Martin Pro Staff
1,804 Posts
Too Close

I had a mule deer buck eat the grass around my blind. I was sitting against a huge rock on the edge of a field and he approached from the mountain behind the rock and started eating the grass. The brush was about three and a half feet high so he couldn't easily notice me, but I could not draw my bow because I would have hit him in the brush if I extened my bow arm to draw. Honestly, this was no lie. He did not notice me for a couple of minutes and I attempted to ease back and draw the bow. Of course he spooked and ran away.

Clay

·
Registered
456 Posts
shortest 12 yds.
longest 38 yds.
i will not shoot at an animal past 40 yds. no matter what the circumstances, even though i could probably hit a penny at 60 yds. (if i shot at it enough times:D ) i typically hunt in wooded areas and 40 yds. is a long way through the trees.

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
Close shot for me was at 6 feet. First buck right under me from a low crotch in a tree. Spined him. Longest was at 32 yards. Nice doe broadside. Most kills have been from 10 to 20 yards. That's why I bowhunt. I love being close!

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
Closest) A yearling pretty much face to face,didn't shoot,but what an interesting hunt...........shocked us both.