Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started shooting Archery in 1975. The local sporting goods store had a clothes dryer box cut down and "thrown" in the box was 11 or 12 Bear Whitetail Hunters........$72 a piece. For you gun guys on the back wall they had a new Colt AR15 for $200. Back to Archery. The old Bear Whitetail wasn't drilled for a rest, it had an indention where you could, if you had the guts, this was spooky after spending such an amount of money. So I went high tech, instead of sticking a rubber rest on I went all out and bought a flipper. Progressed from there to a Jennings Sidekick.........$48 (moving up as this was a 2 wheel bow). Next came my Browning Cobra. I was so proud of this bow, I just thought it was beautiful. One Sunday afternoon me and a buddy was out cruisin and ended up at the local outdoor archery range 34 miles from town. We parked and walked down in. Two archers came out of the woods, one had a blue Jennings Arrowstar the other guy was shooting a PSE Citation. I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Those 2 bows set my world in motion. My first target bow was a Pse Laser Magnum. 45lb peak draw, I don't have an idea what the draw length was but it was short. On our practice range I couldn't shoot the 60 because of the trajectory putting me in the trees. Over the years I have shot alot of different bows, rests, arrows, releases, you name it. This morning I am setting in my easy chair,everybody is still in bed. I am sitting in the quiet drinking my coffee thinking about shooting and looking at my bow. I think of all that has went into where I am now. The long hours of practice, but there is no where you would rather be. The day(s) called in sick because that new bow got here. 4 bows blowing up (damn old magneium risers). Shooting a 29" draw with a 23" arrow of an overdraw (tough on vanes). All those times you punched yourself because something wasn't right with your release.