Archery Talk Forum banner

Looking at new bows.

906 Views 15 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  kilotanker19
I'm new to archery and have read just about every thread on AT and have learned a tremendous amount about archery in a short time. I will soon be pulling the trigger on a new bow and have a few questions.
I have taken the advice of most on here and have shot just about every bow I can get my hands on,

Assassin - I liked but definitely felt the hump in the draw cycle
Diamond Outlaw - felt small amount of vibration that I didn't feel with the Assassin.
Bow madness XS - like the grip and has good draw cycle with no vibration.
Rampage XT - going to shoot Fri.
Vendetta XS - shooting Fri.

So my questions are what is the difference between a 2010 madness XS and a 2011? My dealer has a 2010 marked down to $429 bare bow so I'm wondering if that is a good deal?
Also do PSE have junk factory strings? The madness has a tube on the peep which I don't like and believe it indicates a lower quality string.

Thanks in advance
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
705 Posts
The PSE 2010 is the same as the 2011. The madness is a great bow and the strings are of good quality. the peep sight tubing is added to the string but not part of it, and has nothing to do with string quality. If you don't like that peep you can always switch to a tubeless one.

· Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats good news. Thought I might have to replace string on bmxs right away.
Thanks

· Registered
739 Posts
i dont own a pse so im not a fanboy sticking up for them but I would honestly say in my opinion pse has the best stock strings out of any company if i was you i would just replace the tubed peep with a g5 meta peep i cant stand the peeps with tubes on them either

· Registered
55,450 Posts