Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking about getting into hunting with a crossbow. Looking for any recommendations or help with choosing a crossbow and what to look for. Thanks, Kent

·
Registered
387 Posts
Recurve xbow - Reliable, easy to maintain, loud, wide, vibrations, accuracy, learn to reserve center serving and you don't need a pro shop,...
Compound xbow - Some are very quiet, almost no vibrations, small-compact, there are more things that can go wrong, more tuning - pro shop?,...

I have both and I like both! I don't have pro shop near. I can do things - maintanance on both by my own and I am a newb :) Both can kill "anything" out to 40yds. I would recommend you to try different xbows - good way to find what fits you.

milan.

·
Registered
339 Posts
If you like wheels on your bow go with ten point / wicked ridge. If you like recurve's you have to look at excalibur.
Check out their entry level packages...no sense going broke until this is something you know you will enjoy.
Good luck!!

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input. Been about 12 years since working part time enjoying my hobby in a local archery shop. So serving and maintenance is no problem I do pretty much all my own work on my compounds just never really checked out the crossbow line and would like to get into it. Any info would be greatly appreciated from fellow archers already enjoying the experience. Thanks again, Kent

·
Registered
387 Posts
What are you looking for? Speed, small-compact, light weight, trigger, price? :)...Usually everyone will say their own favourites...You can get few inputs - tips, but the best thing is to try it.

milan.

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Reliability and quality. Compact, speed and acurracy. Trying them out is definatly the best thing for feel, fit etc. Just looking for starting points and opinions. Don't know anyone personally that shoots one.

·
Registered