Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is subjective and probably opening a can of worms but I've been going back and forth on short vs. long climbing sticks. What's your opinion/preferred setup when it comes to sticks and why?

My initial thought is short since they seem more packable, I'm considering strapping them to the bottom or back of my backpack to carry them in. I know I'll probably need to carry at least one more than if going with longer sticks, 4 vs 3 most likely. I just keep going back to longer sticks are more likely to catch on something while hiking to a spot.

For reference, most of my hunting will be on public land, at least for now in a saddle setup. I am completely new to this type of setup. I'm looking to get up to 15'-20'.

Happy Thanksgiving, and thanks.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Honestly, I'm newer into public land/bow hunting - but I have had no issues with my XOP mini sticks.

I got four of them (the mini two step version) and they have worked just fine for me. They have an awesome patented Quarter turn locking mechanism that allows you to lock your sticks together for transport with no additional straps or tie-downs - which is awesome.

I usually stap them to the bottom of my backpack, and can pack them anywhere.

But as with everything - there are a ton of brands of sticks and different price points.

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
I have owned about 5 different sets of sticks. My two favorite are shikars and beast sticks in that order. My shikars have fixed foot rests as I was not a fan of the adjustable ones. Those two sets for me are easy to pack and just plain solid.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
Every single stick on the market has pros and cons. Only you can weigh what is most important to you.
I've used, bought, and sold most every stick on the market or heavily researched it.