Archery Talk Forum banner

Looks Like Bowtech Might Be In Deep... "Scat"

14965 Views 216 Replies 99 Participants Last post by  fostereaton
1 - 20 of 217 Posts

· Registered
9,755 Posts
"Claude" is about 33 years too late to sue anyone. The TSS Quadraflex was the first marketed mid limb pivot bow in the early 80's and the patent was first granted to Joseph Caldwell around 1978.

Attachments

· Registered
45 Posts
Indeed. I am not a lawyer, but the US has some interesting laws when it comes to Patents. For example we are one of the only countries that allows for submissions after other people have submitted patents Trying to figure out who came up with the idea first). In all other countries it is first come first serve. The US is looking to change the law because there is a huge backlog because these fights take forever.

Probably the only claim will be coming from the nondisclosure. Bowtech is a huge company and can outlast any individuals in lawyers and courts. In the end probably best thing he is going to get is a settlement. Even then by the time he gets to that point there will be so many fees he won't be getting a huge payout.

Additionally, even in his claim they did not directly steal it. They took his idea reworked it and made something new. Like I said not a lawyer, just some observations.

On another note I am most likely going to be buying a Bowtech Assassin Black ops, change stabilizer to limbsaver and the rest to QAD Ultra Rest Bone Collector as my first bow.

· I like shiny stuff.
4,549 Posts
Why wait 6 years to sue, or two years from date of supposed origination to filing a patent? Bunch a crap probably.

· I like shiny stuff.
4,549 Posts