Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
-I am new to bow hunting. This is my second season bow hunting. I`ve hunted for 4yrs and managed to lose one deer with the rifle. Yesterday about 8:AM shut a doe. It looked like a good shot at the time. Behind the shoulder just high a bit. She just walked away with 3 other does that were front of her. I watched her stand behind a downed tree for a while until the rest thought it was time to go.
-I waited 30Min's. before looking for my arrow. Found it 7yds right behind where she was standing. No blood or hair on the arrow. No blood on site.
-Went back to where i was standing about 15yds away. Re lined my sight of aim with my pin and matched spot where the arrow was found. Had to pass through i think. So i went to grab my buddy to help me track after an 1 1/2 hour passed. Turned up with nothing. Went for at least 200yds but lost tracks after a while.
-Do you think i missed it some how? Shooting over the top then hitting a branch sending the arrow in to the dirt? I can hit a 4" group at 45yds with my Mathews at 65lbs 28in draw length. (But i was pretty worked up having to let those 3 does pass front of her so they don`t bust me just 15 yds away.) I don`t know....it was a perfect broad side shot too.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
Sounds like ya missed buddy...good thing is that it sounds like none of them knew what happened, try again tmrw...good luck

·
Registered
593 Posts
My guess is a clean arrow is a clean miss. The arrow shaft or fletch will almost always
show flesh or blood or hair if it strikes and animal. They don't always react violently to the shot. Trust that the arrow was deflected or you just shot high in the excitement of
the moment. You will do better the next opportunity.

·
Registered
62 Posts
agreed with the above. never shot one and had a clean arrow. better a clean miss then a wounded deer

·
Registered
768 Posts