Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:( I hit a doe late yesterday afternoon...and lost the trail VERY early...about 2 drops of blood...and within minutes of getting off my stand it starts heavy POURING RAIN...
ARRRGGGGGHHHHHH!
I looked and looked...got lost in the Connecticut woods, in the pitch dark (Had to listen for a distant highway to find my way).....3 hours later no deer.....no arrow...no nothing.....
I learned a tough lesson last night...and the worst of it is I'm a teacher and I couldn't call in or use a personal day because of parent meetings....
I will look for it after school...kinda hot so there goes the meat.....
I feel terrible!:(
Just had to vent.....
Mil6161

·
Registered
899 Posts
Ya still sick to your stomach?

Last year I shot a doe. I heard something crack/thwack on my bow and shot a little far back on her. I waited an 1 hour and a half before I started tracking her. Had some good blood sign and tracked her to the swamp on the property I hunt. It was getting late so I held off until the next morning. Started tracking her where I left off. She kept doubling back at least three times and after three hours tracking, I couldn't find her. Last drops of blood were heading into the thick cottontails and the blood stopped. Couldn't find her.
Still makes me feel bad......

·
Registered
2,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sour!

I had alot of trouble sleeping.....man this is tough to deal with.....worst then I thought it would be...I know how one of my buddies felt last year....he face looks just like mine as I looked in the mirror this morning..........:(

·
Registered
3,175 Posts