Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok here is the deal. i had been shooting my old alpine rebel for about 6 years and so i finally broke down and bought a martin phantom II magnum. it has the tru arc cams. i was out shooting sunday and, well its hard to say exactly what happened, but i don't think it was a full dry -fire. meaning i did have an aroow on the string but as i pulled back to full draw i heard a smack and my arm and bow made a huge lurch forward. looking down my release was still on my loop, but the string was off both cams. i never saw what happened to the arrow. my brother and some guys we shoot with looked at it and could find no "external" damage at all, i put the string back on and drew the bow back and had them check to see if the cams swung true still. they said it all looked straight and normal so i proceeded to sight it back in. it sighted in fine, at least as fine as you can shoot after that happened!!! but i am still able to get very good groups. the string leaches were gone. the string appears ok there is one very small piece that kind of looks like a fray, but it was where a stinrg leach was.

so what happened to my bow? string damage? what should i do? i did have limbsavers on (two on each limb) plus other dampening accesories. any help would be greatly appreciated. also any info comments anyopne has on these martin phantom II magnums would be appreciated. thank you in advance.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
anyone?

anyone home? sorry to sound im patient but i got a free afternoon from work and hunting season is very very close and i am chomping at the bit to get this figured out.

·
32,712 Posts