Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
1,226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
but, here goes. I am relatively new at this bowhunting thing. This is my first full season bowhunting after only hunting the second half of last year. Anyways, It was just after legal shooting light here in MN and I was about to get down from my stand. As I started to pack things up, I heard a deer blowing about 40 yards from me. It was snorting and blowing like mad, and stomping the ground as well. Now I know that I got busted when this happened...The question that I have is was the deer blowing because it heard me, or could it have smelled me? Like I said, I am new to this, so I don't really know what it means when they do this other than "I got busted." Thanks for the help.
Bud
P.S. I also had scent killer on, and try not to let my clothes get contaminated with human scent even though I am hunting on a farm with lots of people around. Thanks again.

· Registered
1,267 Posts
Could be both. A faint scent will get them blowing. A strong one will usually get them running. If they see movement they might blow at you. They are trying to clear their nose to get a better wiff of you. A little tip: If you get blown at walking to or from your stand, stay dead still and try blowing right back at them. Sometimes that will make them think its just another deer and settle back down.

· Registered
5,341 Posts
You got busted!

It could be the effect of either getting smelled or heard. The stomping is done to get you to move making it easier for the deer to see you and identify the source of the smell or sound.

If the wind was blowing in that direction you were smelled, if calm or blowing away it heard you.

· Registered
1,376 Posts
dont appologize for not knowing something. 99.99999% of ArcheryTalk members are MORE than willing to answer those "dumb" questions. ask away!