Archery Talk Forum banner

Milled riser over a cast riser?

2801 37
What are the benefits if there are any? What if the bows both spec out the exact same, except for the riser composition?
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

· Registered
2,514 Posts
billit is forged/machined not cast which is pretty much just metal poured into a mold.
Typically anything machined will be better/stronger then anyting cast. Casting like i said is just molded which can have a lot of imperfections like air pockets or other impurities.
Machined/billet is cut out of one solid piece of metal.
Then they have both, casts which get machined... They pour the mold then cut it to what the desired spec is.
By the way im a machinist :)

· Registered
28,629 Posts
Realistically there are no advantages. Machined risers look a little better. Cast risers do have some machining done on them. Yes machined risers may be a little stronger, but not enough to obsolete cast risers.

· Embrace the suck!
7,994 Posts
A machined aluminum riser is a lot more dead in your hand compared to a cast magnesium riser. Cast magnesium is a little lighter though.

· Embrace the suck!
7,994 Posts
I bent a cast riser in a bowpress one time. I don't know if I did something wrong or if there was a defect in the riser, but I've never bent a machined aluminum one.

· Registered
526 Posts
So you spends your dollars and make your choices. How long you gonna keep the bow? Is it just a stepping stone for you - your first bow; or something your gonna shoot for years. How deep are your pockets. If that's all you can afford - so what. Better than not shooting.

· Embrace the suck!
7,994 Posts
So you spends your dollars and make your choices. How long you gonna keep the bow? Is it just a stepping stone for you - your first bow; or something your gonna shoot for years. How deep are your pockets. If that's all you can afford - so what. Better than not shooting.
I agree with this. Buy what you can and shoot!

· Registered
100 Posts