Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started shooting a few weeks ago and have gotten tighter and tigher groups from different ranges. As my groups have gotten tighter, I'm missing more and more to the right.

When I start missing right, I work very hard not to torque the bow but the right misses continue.

However, every so often, I'll put an arrow right where I'm aiming. In 50 shots, I might put 30 to the right and 20 on target. I have never missed left.

I'm using an old bow until my new one is set up and I'm not sure if the sight was ever adjusted. If I nock and arrow and line it up with the string, the sight pins are noticeably left of the string.

Is it safe to move the sight to the right a bit or am I still too inconsistent to start messing with the sight.

Also, should my sight pins be lined up with the string and arrow?

TIA

·
Registered
1,642 Posts
There are several things to check:

Centershot tuning - shoot a couple of bare shafts with the fletched arrows and see what happens.

Stance - your natural stance may be a little more open than you are now. Draw and anchor with your eyes closed. Then look to see where your bow is pointing.

Bow hand tension - easy to torque your bow

Poor alignment - as you pull through your shot you may be pulling off target enough to miss to one side or the other.

Draw length too long or short - results in poor alignment and excess tension

There are a few others including your sight being off, but these will get you started.

Good luck,
Allen

·
Registered
2,340 Posts