Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
1,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the rule that is in the books, but no one ever bothers to abide by it? Either because they don't know about it, it's totally asinine, or outdated by equipment advances? Let's hear it. I'm a fairly rookie field shooter, and this kind of info goes a long way.

Jeremiah

·
Smilin' Bob
25,077 Posts
My guess would be the speed rule.

My guess for second would be shooting the wrong target.

·
Registered
34,166 Posts
Rules aren't ignored because they are asinine honestly....some may confuse a few people but they make sense for the most part. play the game first :wink:

The rule that is most broken is which target to shoot or shooting from the correct side....and you will get dinged for it on your score card.

There are no equipment rules that come into effect....new vs old really. The only thing that could even fall in that category is the speed limit and it's 300 fps.

·
aka "5 Spot"
9,756 Posts
Oh boy - I feel the boat rocking already.

But here goes.

I'll use a Hoyt setup just as an example, but I'm sure this can be applied to practically every compound bow maker.

I'm by NO MEANS an expert on Hoyt cams, but it is my understanding that bow X with Y limbs and Spiral cams will produce a higher FPS than the same set up using Cam 1/2.

It would stand to reason then that the energy being provided to the arrow is "increased" due to the cam.

If that is the case then the following is being violated as cams are NOT considered part of the string.

2. Compound bows may be used, provided:
2.1 Basic design includes a handle riser (grip) and flexible limbs.
2.2 Total arrow propelling energy is developed from a flexing of the materials employed in limb construction.
2.3 Weight reduction factor is of no consequence.