Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm a robotics engineer who recently found traditional archery. I'm quite interesting in the craftsmanship in fletching and bow making as well and decided to build a machine that I though might merge my engineering skills with my newfound hobby.
I'm sure you are all familiar with cresting jigs, this is similar, but utilizes a microcontroller and two stepper motors to apply the paint according to a digital design input. Think CNC machine for cresting.
I'm making this post to gauge the general interest in this sort of cresting as a service, or perhaps the machine as a product.
Here are some of the first arrows I've crested, I will post more finished designs as I make them if there is interest. Also, I'd like to hear your design ideas. What would you want to see on a custom crested arrow?
Thanks in advance
Automotive tire Bumper Bicycle part Automotive exterior Automotive design

Chair Wood Musical instrument Audio equipment Metal

Musical instrument Handwriting Office supplies Font Wood

·
Premium Member
8,581 Posts
Wow, that's really cool :)

I'm making this post to gauge the general interest in this sort of cresting as a service, or perhaps the machine as a product
Just guessing, the components are "off the shelf", which would make assembly faster and cheaper. ?? If so, my bet is you could sell quite a few to the shops that sell "custom arrows".

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

Just guessing, the components are "off the shelf", which would make assembly faster and cheaper. ?? If so, my bet is you could sell quite a few to the shops that sell "custom arrows".
[/QUOTE