Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
most bows i have ever handled have had pretty taught string when first drawing but my bow is kind of slack for the first little bit coul it be that my string is to long or cables to short ? any suggestions for fixing either? THanks much .

·
In 'Da Head
24,266 Posts
Measure the specs on the bow
ATA, BH, DL and DW this should tell you if something is off

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well i purchased it as a 60# but it came from the factory as 65# so that might explain something but i dono what cause i dono much about bows i am just getting into it.

·
Registered
272 Posts
Did someone adjust your draw lenght by twisting the string or cable?

·
In 'Da Head
24,266 Posts
Did you check the specs?
Measure the axle to axle distance. Measure from center of top axle to center of bottom axle...what is the measurement? Measure the Brace height (distance from string to the deepest part of the grip)...what is it?

·
Just shoot it!!!
3,178 Posts
bridge said:
most bows i have ever handled have had pretty taught string when first drawing but my bow is kind of slack for the first little bit coul it be that my string is to long or cables to short ? any suggestions for fixing either? THanks much .
The string on any compound bow is under a lot of pressure even at rest.

What do you mean by “my bow is kind of slack for the first little bit”.:confused:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
well ever other bow i have ever shot you feel weight the second you begin pulling back on the string with mine there is weight but it is very little say 15# for about 4" of my draw length right at the beggining i am thinkin it might be that the cables are tighter than the string or somthing ? i dono any ideas are great.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #12