Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

For those who maybe interested I thought I would share my experience with regards to the Formula vs ILF debate.

I started shooting Olympic recurve in 2010. I love it and I find it extremely enjoyable. My first recurve was a Sebastian Flute riser with some T-Rex limbs. A starter set-up but I wanted to see if I would stick with it and I did.

A year ago I decided to upgrade. I got into recurve when Hoyt introduced their Formula limb system. My SF was ILF but I took notice of all the people shooting the Formula system and read about the benefits. The advertising worked for me at least. When I upgraded I bought a Formula system. This was my second recurve and I wanted to get something I could shoot out to 70meters with. The 22lbs T-Rex limbs were not going to make it:)

I shot the Hpx for a year, the finish on the riser was beautiful and I had the F7 limbs that came out to 36lbs on my fingers. I was getting 192fps at my 29.5" draw length and really enjoyed shooting it. The limbs were smooth an I could reach 70m with my acc's.

I then picked up a Win Win TF Apecs with some Samick Carbon/Foam Athlete limbs. These also came out to 36lbs and I used the same arrows.
I was curious how these limbs that cost less than half of the F7's were for speed. I decided to shoot these through the chronograph and to my surprise they were only 4fps slower. I was a bit preplexed, I thought the F7's would have been a bit quicker. I grabbed my Hoyt and shot it again to confirm and it was 192fps. Then I shot the Samicks again, 188fps.