Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year seriously bowhunting. I have been hunting for 20 years and i am fortunate to tag out in Maine almost every year during rifle season.

Tuesday night i went out around 4:30pm and ended up seeing a smaller 6 pt come in. I missed the buck and 5 mins later he came back and at 25 yards i shot. Still not sure where i hit the buck but he hunched up and was moving slowly. Blood and hair were not a problem to find but NO arrow. I also believe i nicked a fur branch with the rage and it opened before impact probably the reason for no pass through. The buck was only bleeding from the right side.

Tuesday night i followed the trail for only about 80 yards, marked my trail and backed out. Without having the BOWHUNTING experience when it comes time to tracking i figured this was my best bet. I forgot to mention i have lived in Massachusetts for the past 3 years and i hunt alone. No hunting buddies and ZERO for me down here unfortunately and it sure is nice to have a extra set of eyes when you need them.