Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I feel like my local pro shop guy may be taking me for a ride. I'm new to bow hunting but have spent many, Many hours reading and studying the subject and get the feeling the guy at the local shop just isn't doing right by me. When I first went there, I explained that I was getting into archery to hunt deer. I knew I'd need to shoot with a strap type release yet he let me purchase a finger shooting glove even as I asked his advice. My bow is a 70# compound but and he sold me 4560 arrows knowing my intention was to shoot 100 grain broad heads and intended to work up to the full pull weight this summer. When he told me the old used bow I purchased from a private party wasn't going to work, I bought a bare overstock model which he said he'd give me a package deal on. He proceeded to set me up with a sight, rest, release, string silencers and charged me for each and every last piece. My buddy who hunts said I should start out with exactly the set up I intended to hunt with. He did take the glove back, but I may be stuck with six under spined arrows and no confidence in his advice. I’d rather not mention the store’s name or the persons’ name, but I will tell all before I allow someone else to get the run around I feel I may have been given, especially someone new to the sport like me. Was I done wrong? Where do I go for advice in N. W. Indiana?

PSE Nova OC @29"/70#
Trophy Taker Rest
Top Gun Sight
T.R.U Ball Short-N-Sweet W/Buckle
Carbon Express Predator II's
FOBs, Muzzy MX 3's & Crimson Talons

·
Registered
838 Posts
what is the length of the arrow

45/60 is what I shoot at 70#,s and they shoot great with 100g,

was the bow you bought from 3rd party the correct DL, if not could it be adjusted to your DL if not then he may be right, that bow may not have worked for you