Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Traditional Archery. I have been reading mostly and watching videos on various techniques and advice. It led me to the Samick Sage 30# as my first Bow to work on form. I look forward to my first range lesson. I am going to get some arrows that work with my 30# Sage. I have a 28.5" draw as measured with the Easton Arrow Gage but I am not consistent with that yet as i am trying to get a feel for my anchor point. I have worked a bit with the online spine calculator on 3Rivers website and found several arrows that may work for that bow. Does anyone have experience with the Carbon Express Predator II 800? 30" shafts with Amped-XS nocks [9g] Half Out inserts [46g] field point [75g] 3x5 feathers for fletching, this seems to get the arrow spine close to the sage. I also looked at the Easton 1816 Aluminum, 1814 X7, Carbon One 810, Red line 780, they all appear to spine well for the sage but some seem expensive for starter arrows. The CE P II 800 were reasonably priced...

Samick Sage 30#
Draw Length = 28.5"
D97 FF 14 Strand

Shooting The Stickbow - Camera

Become The Arrow - Furguson

Ultimate Guide To Traditional Archery - Sapp

·
>>--------->
1,465 Posts
easton has a couple of 'new' offerings that may suit you well in a good variety of spine

apollo - I'd like to try these and compare to the carbon one

tribute - if you want to catch some fire ;)

·
Registered
20,754 Posts
Lamarr -

If you can use a 29" arrow go with 1716s.
Since most "charts" are pretty far off draw length wise, using a full length (30.5") 1816s might be a safer bet. (Yes, they may be slightly stiff but certainly usable.)
You can use the less expensive Jazz or Blues versions.
Carbon Ones are entry level OUTDOOR arrows for shooting at extended distances.
They should not be even considered for indoor shooting.

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
17,131 Posts